Driving Safety Course
CDL (Commercial Driver's License) holders do not qualify for this option; and certain offenses may not qualify for this option.
Driving Safety Course Eligibility and Requirements
To qualify you must meet the following terms:
- You were not charged with speeding more than 24 mph over the posted speed limit.
- You do not possess a commercial drivers' license (CDL) in any state and did not possess a CDL on the date of the offense.
- You must have a valid Texas Driver's License (Class C Operators' License), or if you are a member or spouse/dependent of a member of the United States Military forces serving on active duty.
- You must have current proof of financial responsibility (insurance) with your name listed as a covered driver on the policy.
- You must not have taken a Driving Safety Course within the past 12 months from the date of the current citation.
- You cannot have taken a Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Training Course for dismissal of another citation or be in the process of taking the course for another traffic violation and said course is not yet reflected on your driving record.
- You have not been charged with an offense in a construction zone with workers present.
Defendants issued citations while operating a motorcycle may request a motorcycle operator training course. Also, defendants issued a citation for failing to wear a seat belt or failing to have a passenger or child in a safety seat or seat belt can also complete a seat belt safety course to have a citation omitted from their driving record.
Requirements if Determined Eligible
You must provide the following:
- You must enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere/no contest
- You must pay the State costs and administrative fee in the amount of $144 or $169.00 if the offense was issued in a School Zone at time of request.
- You must file a Driving Safety Request with the Court stating you meet eligibility. (If requesting by mail or online)
- Submit proof of a Valid Texas Drivers' License and Proof to Current Texas Liability Insurance with your name on it, with your request.
- Defensive Driving/Driving Safety Course
- Motorcycle Operator's Training Course
- Seat Belt Safety Course
After successful completion of Driving Safety Course and proof submitted to the court. The Court will dismiss the fine (balance of citation) and the case. The will then report completion your completion to the Texas Department of Public Safety for inclusion on your driving record.
If you fail to provide the Court with your certificate and/or driving record, by your due date, your case will be set to the next available Show Cause Hearing Docket, for you to explain as to why your certificate and/or driving record was not submitted to the court. A summons will be sent to the last known address you have provided to the court. If you fail to appear at the Show Cause Hearing, a judgment will be imposed and a conviction reported to your driving record.